Wednesday, April 11, 2018

Cupples and Leon Mystery Stories for Girls Series

This is the text of an eBay guide that I created in 2006.  The guides are now orphaned pages that can only be found through an Internet search.  eBay plans to delete the guides in April 2018.

This eBay guide was viewed approximately 4,200 times.

The Cupples and Leon Mystery Stories for Girls series was published by Cupples and Leon during the 1930s.  This series brought together various unconnected stand-alone novels into one set of books.  The books were written by Mildred A. Wirt, Pemberton Ginther, Frances Y. Young, Izola L. Forrester, Alice Anson, and Anna Andrews Barris.

These books are of interest to series book collectors in part because two of the books were written by Mildred Wirt, who is best known as the author of the early Nancy Drew books.  The other books are of interest since they are part of the same set as the two Wirt books.  

List of Titles:

  1. The Jade Necklace,  Pemberton Ginther,  1932
  2. The Thirteenth Spoon,  Pemberton Ginther,  1932
  3. The Secret Stair,  Pemberton Ginther,  1932
  4. The Door in the Mountain,  Izola L. Forrester,  1932
  5. Secret of the Dark House,  Frances Y. Young,  1934
  6. The Twin Ring Mystery,  Mildred A. Wirt,  1935
  7. The Dormitory Mystery,  Alice Anson,  1937
  8. Mystery of the Laughing Mask,  Mildred A. Wirt,  1940
  9. Escape by Night,  Alice Anson,  1941
10. Mystery of the Jade Idol,  Anna Andrews Barris,  1943


All of these books are somewhat scarce either with or without the original dust jacket, but some of the books are much more scarce than the others.  Two of the more scarce titles are Escape by Night and Mystery of the Jade Idol.

All of the books are very difficult to find with intact dust jackets.

For more information about this series, please visit my website.

No comments: