Wednesday, May 2, 2018

Susan Sand Mystery Stories by Marilyn Ezzell 1982-1984

This is the text of an eBay guide that I created in 2006.  The guides are now orphaned pages that can only be found through an Internet search.  eBay plans to delete the guides in April 2018.

This eBay guide was viewed approximately 4,500 times.

The Susan Sand Mystery Stories series was published by Pinnacle in softcover from 1982 through 1984.  The series was written by Marilyn Ezzell.

Advertisements for the series described Susan Sand as the "modern detective heroine in the classic tradition of Nancy Drew."  The series was published as a direct rival to the Nancy Drew series.  The design of the front covers mimicked the design of the Nancy Drew paperback titles of the early 1980s.

List of Titles:

1. The Mystery at Hollowhearth House, 1982
2. The Secret of Clovercrest Castle, 1982
3. The Clue in Witchwhistle Well, 1982
4. The Riddle of Raggedrock Ridge, 1982
5. The Phantom of Featherford Falls, 1983
6. The Password to Diamonddwarf Dale, 1983
7. The Search for the Snowship Songs, 1984
8. The Mystery of Beggarbay Bluff, 1984


All eight titles are scarce.  The higher-numbered titles are more scarce, and #8 is rare.  The first several titles are worth around $5 to $10.  #7 is worth around $25.00, and #8 is worth at least around $50.00.*  These values are just an estimate based on selling prices that I have seen.  The values are subject to increase or decrease based on supply and demand.  Also keep in mind that books with heavy wear will be worth significantly less. 

*The above information about value was based on my observations in 2006.  Most series book values collapsed in late 2008 and have never recovered.  All titles in the series can currently be found for under $20, and sometimes partial or complete sets sell for under $20.  The books are still scarce, but few people are interested in purchasing them.

No comments: